Shoyu is a soy sauce, which is a dark brown liquid made from soya beans that have undergone a fermentation process. Natural shoyu employs the use of a centuries-old method of fermentation involving a special koji (Aspergillus oryzae), which converts hard-to-digest soy proteins, starches and fats into easily absorbed amino acids, simple sugars and fatty acids. Most commercial shoyu is made by a chemical process in which cereals and soybeans are mixed with acids.
Depending on the ingredients there are different types of soy sauces: - shoyu: this soy sauce is mixture of soya beans and wheat - tamari: this soy sauce is only made from soya beans
Shoyu is the foundation of Japanese cuisine, it is the essential ingredient. Shoyu is the most important condiment used to flavour food and also used to cook with. Shoyu can be found in most grocery stores (Asian food section) or in health stores. Shoyu can be stored at room temperature for up to one year.
Health benefits of shoyu
As opposed to other soyfoods such as tempeh, soymilk or tofu, shoyu does not contain a lot of isoflavones. Therefore eating shoyu may not bring the normal health benefits of soy
. Shoyu also contains a lot of salt and should be used sparingly to flavor dishes.
Is shoyu or soy sauce gluten free?
Although shoyu and many other soy sauces are not wheat free, the gluten seem to be no longer present in the final product. We tested two naturally brewed soy sauces (Kikoman and Lima) and gluten levels were below detection limit (<5ppm). More about gluten free soy sauce
Nutrional values of shoyu (per 100g shoyu):
|Fat (total lipid)|
|Fatty acids, saturated|
|Fatty acids, mono-unsaturated|
|Fatty acids, poly-unsaturated|
|Vitamin C (ascorbic acid)|
|Thiamin (vitamin B1)|
|Riboflavin (vitamin B2)|
|Niacin (vitamin B3)|
|Panthotenic acid (vitamin B5)|
[Source: USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference]